National Efforts to Address Climate Change in UAE

Considering the growing body of scientific evidence of the economic, social and environmental impacts of climate change at both the global and local levels, the UAE has taken active steps to mitigate the effects of climate change and to adapt to its implications

 National Efforts to Address Climate Change

In the United Arab Emirates

 

Considering the growing body of scientific evidence of the economic, social and environmental impacts of climate change at both the global and local levels, the UAE has taken active steps to mitigate the effects of climate change and to adapt to its implications.  The country has launched a series of national initiatives and has taken a set of measures based on the use of technology, innovative solutions and best practice, including:

  • To adopt clean energy options
  • To transform the national economy into a low-carbon green economy
  • To embrace green architecture and sustainable construction
  • To improve the sustainability of the transport sector
  • To minimize the ecological footprint
  • To utilize government accelerators
  • To research the development of carbon capture and sequestration technologies

 

To Embrace a Renewable and Clean Environment

The energy sector is one of the major contributors to climate change. Available data indicates that the energy sector, including electricity production, oil extraction, oil refinery, desalination, conversion industries and transport, accounts for about 80% of total emissions at the national level.

Considering these facts, the UAE has been keen to pay particular attention to this sector. The establishment of Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company “Masdar” in 2006 marked a major turning point in the energy source diversification policy pursued by His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE (may Allah protect Him) and in UAE's handling of the issue of sustainability in general, and climate change in particular.

UAE’s Most Important Clean Energy Projects

  • In Abu Dhabi in March 2013 His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE (may Allah protect Him), launched the Shams 1 Project, the first renewable energy project in the country and the largest concentrated solar power plant in the world with a production capacity of 100 megawatts.  This was followed by the opening of the Noor 1 Plant with the same capacity. Preparations are currently underway for a new plant in Abu Dhabi with a production capacity of 350 megawatts.
  • In October of the same year (2013), His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President and Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai (may Allah safeguard Him), inaugurated the first project of the Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Complex for Solar Power, with a capacity of 13 megawatts.
  • In March 2017, His Highness inaugurated the operation of the second phase of the Complex with a production capacity of 200 megawatts. The second phase, at a cost of around 1.5 billion Dirhams, is expected to generate electricity for almost 50,000 homes and to reduce carbon emissions by about 214 thousand tons in Dubai annually.
  • The operation of the second phase falls under a plan aiming to produce 1,000 megawatts in the Complex by 2020 and 5,000 megawatts by 2030. The Supreme Council of Energy in Dubai plans to bring solar energy in the energy mix of Dubai to 7% by 2020, 25% by 2030, and 75% by 2050.
  • In 2013 the UAE started to build 4 nuclear power plants in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi with a capacity of 5.6 gigawatts, representing about 26% of the energy mix in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi. These plants will start producing energy in stages between 2017 and 2020.
  • In November 2015, Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company (Masdar) officially announced the start of the operational phase of its renewable energy desalination pilot project in “Ghantoot”, Abu Dhabi, with a production capacity of almost 1,500 cubic meters of water per day, reducing typical desalination energy requirements by 40%.
  • In 2013 the first the conversion of waste into energy began with the launch of the first project to produce electricity from methane generated from Dubai’s Al Qusais waste dump with a capacity of (1) megawatt for 20 years. Similar large production capacity projects are expected to be created in the coming years in all emirates.
  • Community involvement in energy production from renewable sources. Dubai Electricity and Water Authority has launched the “Shams Dubai” initiative to encourage homeowners and building owners to install photoelectric panels that produce electricity from solar energy, for their own use and to transfer any surplus to a network.
  • In the same context, the Ministry of Energy announced at the end of 2016, in collaboration with the Federal Authority for Electricity and Water, a law that allows residents, establishments and private companies to produce electricity using solar energy by installing photoelectric panels on the roofs of their buildings.
  • The renewable energy projects implemented by the UAE at national and global levels have contributed to a significant reduction of the cost of production, achieving a new world record of 2.42 cents per kilowatt/hour.  This important achievement will enhance the opportunities for spreading renewable energy technologies globally.
  • All this has coincided with the attention paid to the improvement of oil and gas production and the promotion of energy efficiency and conservation through a variety of measures.  These include raising awareness, linking consumption to the economic mechanism (band system) and the use of energy conserving tools in various sectors.

Emirates Energy Strategy 2050

In the light of the UAE energy successes, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President and Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai (may Allah safeguard Him), launched in January 2017 the “Emirates Energy Strategy 2050”, the first unified energy strategy in the country in terms of  both production and consumption, thus balancing production, consumption and global environmental commitments and ensuring a comfortable economic environment for growth in all sectors.

This strategy aims to increase the share of clean energy in the national energy mix to 50% by 2050, taking into account the growth rate of energy demand estimated at about 6% until 2050. It also aims to increase the efficiency of individual and institutional consumption by 40% and to reduce the carbon emissions associated with electricity production by 70%.

The strategy has determined the following energy production mix which must be reached in 2050: 44% for clean energy, 38% for gas, 12% for green coal and 6% for nuclear energy.

UAE’s Contribution to Spreading Renewable Energy Technologies Globally

  • Since its establishment in 1971, the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development has overseen the provision of 73 billion Dirhams for financing 488 developmental projects in 83 countries worldwide.
  • The Abu Dhabi Fund for Development is committed to providing franchise loans worth 1.285 billion Dirhams (the equivalent of almost 350 million Dollars) in cooperation with the International Renewable Energy Agency to support renewable energy projects in developing country members in the Agency.
  • Through the UAE-Pacific Island Partnership Program, the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development provides grants worth 183.6 million Dirhams (the equivalent of almost 50 million Dollars) in support of renewable energy projects. Under this program, the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development has supported 6 projects in Tonga, Fiji, Kiribati, Samoa, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.
  • The Caribbean Fund, announced in September 2016 with capital of 50 million Dollars, is the latest addition to the program for helping to develop renewable energy abroad.   This is based on commitments exceeding 840 million Dollars undertaken so far to provide support in more than 25 countries worldwide.
  • “Masdar” invests in renewable energy projects around the world, including solar systems for homes installed in 940 villages in Morocco and the London Wind Energy Matrix in the United Kingdom, in addition to other projects supporting renewable energy solutions around the globe.

Hosting International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) Headquarters

The global consensus on the UAE's hosting of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) headquarters in Abu Dhabi represented global recognition of the importance of UAE's efforts in the field of spreading renewable energy worldwide.

The strong material and moral support provided by the UAE to the Agency have enabled it to strengthen its presence, to enhance its efforts and to achieve its objectives in spreading renewable energy technologies and promoting global investments directed at this vital sector.

Emirates Green Development Strategy

Green Economy is one of the tracks of sustainable development. This approach aims in general to strengthen the role of economic growth in achieving sustainable development and combatting poverty, while simultaneously conserving and expanding the natural resource base by decoupling growth and resources.

The UAE officially adopted this approach in 2012 when His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President and Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai (may Allah safeguard Him), launched UAE's Green Development Strategy under the theme “A Green Economy for Sustainable Development”.  Its objective is to transform our national economy into a low-carbon green economy based on its development of knowledge and innovation.

This strategy is divided into six tracks: green energy, green investment, green cities, climate change, green life and green technology.

In 2015, the Cabinet endorsed the implementation mechanism of UAE Strategy and Green Agenda 2015-2030, which was prepared following studies, meetings and workshops where various developmental activities took place in the public and private sectors.

Sustainable Transport

The continued growth in the UAE road transport sector represents an important challenge. The number of vehicles rose from approximately 1.9 million in 2008 to almost 3.2 million vehicles in 2015.  These all depend on gasoline and diesel for fuel, with the exception of a small percentage running on natural gas.

Despite the important role played by this sector as a major driver of development, the steady and rapid increase in the number of vehicles in the nation has created negative effects and marked challenges on more than one level.  These include increased levels of pollution in cities and urban centers, increased hazardous and non-hazardous waste, and increased level of carbon emissions.  The transport sector contributes about 15% of the total carbon emissions in the country.

In an effort to reduce the negative effects of the land transport sector and to maintain its vital role in development, the concerned authorities have taken a range of measures, including:

  • Setting national standards for the levels of emissions resulting from land transportation.  These are guaranteed by the system of air pollution protection issued by virtue of Cabinet Resolution No. 37 of 2006 as part of the executive regulations of Federal Law No. 24 of 1999 with respect to environment protection and development.
  • Periodic inspection of the gaseous pollutants emitted from exhausts annually as a prerequisite for licensing vehicles.
  • To improve the types of fuel used in vehicles. Leaded gasoline was replaced with unleaded gasoline in 2003, and the sulfur content of diesel has been reduced to 10 parts per million at present.
  • Use of natural gas as fuel in more vehicles.
  • The adoption of the mass transport option and making it more acceptable and attractive.  New means of mass transport, such as trains, metro and tram have been introduced in order to limit the individual use of means of transport. Public transport has become an option for much of the country's population. For example, more than 531 million passengers used public transport in Dubai in 2015, with a daily average of about 1.5 million passengers.
  • Setting up the appropriate infrastructure to encourage the entry of clean-fuel cars to the local market.
  • To float fuel prices effective from August 1, 2015.

The efforts to sustain the transport sector will continue in the next phase, with a focus on continuous improvement of fuel types and road networks, diversification of transport by increasing the share of clean-fuel vehicles, as well as promoting mass transport and making it the preferred choice for the largest population.

Green Architecture

The building sector is the single largest source of greenhouse gas emissions globally, according to the governmental authority concerned with climate change. In the UAE, this sector accounts for more than 70% of the total electricity consumption and for about 40% of the total water consumption. Consequently, the sustainability of consumption patterns in this sector represents opportunities to lower consumption and to reduce pollutants, emissions and waste, more than in any other single sector.

The UAE has adopted the Green Architecture approach, which is deemed one of the most important tools in this regard, especially in light of the level of urban development it witnesses. The implementation of the criteria of this approach is mandatory in Abu Dhabi through the “Estidama” (Sustainability) program, which includes five levels of assessment and, in Dubai, through the four-level “Al Safat” assessment system. Moreover, the implementation of the criteria of Green Architecture has begun at the federal level in governmental buildings as a first stage, and they will be implemented in all buildings in the country in later stages.

Ecological Footprint

The Emirates Ecological Footprint Initiative is a partnership initiative between the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment, the Environment Agency - Abu Dhabi, Emirates Wildlife Society and the Global Ecological Footprint Network. The UAE is considered the third country in the world, after Switzerland and Japan, to adopt such an initiative.

Since its launch in 2007, the Initiative, through its three-year strategic partnership, has realized significant achievements, including: introducing the concept of Ecological Footprint to policy makers, decision-makers and community members, integrating it into policy development and decision-making, and setting up sophisticated mechanisms and models for collecting, reviewing and auditing the data related to Ecological Footprint accounts and to make them available at both local and global levels.

The initiative has also succeeded in developing a scientific modeling tool to assess how energy and water supply and demand processing policies affect carbon emissions, in developing standards and policies for efficient energy use in lighting, and in developing public standards and policies for the transport sector.

The initiative has played an important role in reducing the Ecological Footprint per capita in the country from around 12 global hectares in 2006 to less than 8 global hectares per capita annually in 2014.

UAE Strategy for the Future

The UAE's visionary strategy aims to anticipate and analyze opportunities and challenges in all vital sectors in the State and develop long-term proactive plans at all levels to achieve qualitative achievements serving the interests of the country.

The Strategy aims to develop governmental systems that make the future outlook part of the strategic planning process in government agencies, to launch studies and scenarios for anticipating the future of all vital sectors and to develop plans and policies accordingly.

Addressing climate change represents one of the priority issues selected in the first phase of the Strategy.

Government Accelerators

The Government Accelerators adopted by the Cabinet in October 2016 are considered as a new government action mechanism aimed at accelerating the pace of achieving the objectives of the National Agenda of UAE Vision 2021, including those related to climate change.

In the context of the 100-day work program announced by His Highness Sheikh / Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President and Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai (may Allah safeguard Him), the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment, Emirates Global Aluminum Company and General Electric Company have begun a joint project for reducing the emission of nitrogen oxides (NOx) resulting from the activities of the company's plants in Al Taweelah area, Abu Dhabi, and Jebel Ali, Dubai, by 10% at the end of February 2017, which is equivalent to removing 280 thousand cars off the roads of the country.

The project, which was completed on time, surpassed the planned targets by reducing NOx emissions by 16%.

 

Emission Elimination Projects

Carbon Capture and Storage Technologies

Carbon capture and storage technology adopted by the UAE is considered one of the most promising and important technologies in the field of carbon emission mitigation in industrial projects.

In November 2016, Abu Dhabi Carbon Capture Company (Al Reyadah), a joint venture between Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC) and Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company (Masdar), began implementing the region's first commercial scale program for capturing, storing and using carbon in Abu Dhabi's enhanced oil production.

The project aims to capture 800 thousand tons of carbon dioxide from Emirates Steel Company, to store it, to transport it through pipelines and to inject it as a substitute for liquid saturated gas in Abu Dhabi oil fields in order to boost their productivity. The carbon dioxide captured in the project is equivalent to carbon emissions resulting from 170 thousand cars.

This project will lead the way for the application of this technology and its widespread use in the region in the future.

Blue Carbon

“Blue carbon” is a term that refers to carbon in marine and coastal ecosystems, including mangroves, salt marshes, sea grass, algal mosses and coastal swamps. During this process, carbon is stored in the atmosphere in biomasses and marine sediments.

In the context of its interest in carbon capture and elimination projects, the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment, in collaboration with Abu Dhabi Global Environmental Data Initiative, conducted a comprehensive study of coastal ecosystems and their ability to store carbon.

This project has provided a broader understanding of the capacity of those systems to store and to capture carbon and the options for integrating the outcome entailed by the project in policies and management in order to enhance the efforts of their protection and sustainable use.

Click here to view / to download the report

Draft of National Plan for Climate Change

As part of its responsibilities, the Ministry of Climate Change, in collaboration with all the stakeholders in the State and through the Emirates Council for Climate Change and Environment, is developing the first plan to address climate change in the region. The plan is based on the 2021 Vision, the UAE's Green Development Strategy and the Innovation Strategy. The plan will strengthen the country's ambitious economic diversification process and it will also reinforce its shift to new and knowledge-based sectors.

الجهود الوطنية للتعامل مع تغير المناخ في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

في ضوء توافر المزيد من الأدلة والبراهين العلمية على الآثار والتداعيات، الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئية، لتغير المناخ على المستويين العالمي والمحلي، بدأت دولة الإمارات بإطلاق مجموعة من المبادرات الوطنية، واتخاذ سلسلة من التدابير للتخفيف من تغير المناخ والتكيف مع تداعياته تستند إلى استشراف المستقبل وتوظيف التقنيات والحلول المبتكرة وأفضل الممارسات

الجهود الوطنية للتعامل مع تغير المناخ
في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

في ضوء توافر المزيد من الأدلة والبراهين العلمية على الآثار والتداعيات، الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئية، لتغير المناخ على المستويين العالمي والمحلي، بدأت دولة الإمارات بإطلاق مجموعة من المبادرات الوطنية، واتخاذ سلسلة من التدابير للتخفيف من تغير المناخ والتكيف مع تداعياته تستند إلى استشراف المستقبل وتوظيف التقنيات والحلول المبتكرة وأفضل الممارسات، وشملت على سبيل المثال:

تبني خيار المتجددة والنظيفة

يعتبر قطاع الطاقة هو أحد أهم القطاعات تأثيراً في تغير المناخ، ووفقاً للبيانات المتوفرة فإن مساهمة قطاع الطاقة، بما في ذلك إنتاج الكهرباء واستخراج وتكرير النفط وتحلية المياه والصناعات التحويلية والنقل، تمثل حوالي 80% من إجمالي الانبعاثات على المستوى الوطني.

وانطلاقاً من هذه الأهمية حرصت دولة الإمارات على الاهتمام بصورة خاصة بهذا القطاع.  وشكّل إنشاء شركة أبوظبي لطاقة المستقبل "مصدر" في عام 2006 نقطة تحول رئيسية في سياسة تنويع مصادر الطاقة التي وجه بانتهاجها صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان – رئيس الدولة (حفظه الله) وفي تعاطي دولة الإمارات مع مسألة الاستدامة بشكل عام، وتغير المناخ بشكل خاص،

أهم مشاريع الطاقة النظيفة في دولة الإمارات

  • دشّن صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان – رئيس الدولة (حفظه الله) مشروع (شمس 1) في شهر مارس من عام 2013 في أبوظبي وهو أول مشاريع إنتاج الطاقة المتجددة في الدولة، وأكبر محطة لتوليد الطاقة الشمسية المركزة في العالم، بقدرة إنتاجية تبلغ  100 ميجاوات، تلاها افتتاح محطة (نور 1) بذات القدرة الانتاجية. فيما تجري الاستعداد للبدء بإنجاز محطة جديدة في أبوظبي بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 350 ميجاوات.

  • في شهر أكتوبر من نفس العام (2013) دشن صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة – رئيس مجلس الوزراء – حاكم دبي (رعاه الله) المشروع الأول من مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية بقدرة إنتاجية تبلغ 13 ميجاوات.

  • وفي شهر مارس 2017 دشن سموه عملية تشغيل المرحلة الثانية من المجمع بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 200 ميغاوات. ومن المنتظر أن توفر المرحلة الثانية، التي بلغت كلفتها حوالي 1.5 مليار درهم، الكهرباء لحوالي 50,000 منزل وخفض نحو 214 ألف طن من انبعاثات الكربون في دبي سنوياً.

  • ويأتي تشغيل المرحلة الثانية ضمن خطة تستهدف إنتاج 1000 ميجاوات في المجمع بحلول عام 2020 و 5000 ميجاوات بحلول 2030، ويخطط المجلس الأعلى للطاقة بدبي الى الوصول بنسبة الطاقة الشمسية في مزيج الطاقة بإمارة دبي الى 7% بحلول عام 2020، و25% بحلول عام 2030، و75% بحلول عام 2050.

  • بدأت دولة الإمارات منذ عام 2012 بإقامة 4 محطات لإنتاج الطاقة النووية في إمارة أبوظبي باستطاعة تبلغ 5.6 جيغاواط تشكل مساهمتها حوالي 26% في مزيج الطاقة في إمارة أبوظبي. وستبدأ هذه المحطات بإنتاج الطاقة على مراحل بين عام 2017 وعام 2020.

  • أعلنت شركة أبوظبي لطاقة المستقبل (مصدر) في شهر نوفمبر 2015 رسمياً بدء المرحلة التشغيلية لمشروعها التجريبي لتحلية المياه بالاعتماد على الطاقة المتجددة بمنطقة "غنتوت" في أبوظبي، بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ حوالي 1500 متر مكعب من المياه يومياً، مع خفض كمية الطاقة بنسبة 40%.

  • تحويل النفايات إلى طاقة، حيث تدشين أول مشروع لإنتاج الكهرباء من غاز الميثان المتولد من مكب نفايات القصيص بدبي في عام 2013  بقدرة ميجاوات. ومن المنتظر إنشاء المزيد من المشاريع المماثلة بطاقات إنتاجية كبيرة في السنوات القادمة في كافة إمارات الدولة.

  • إشراك المجتمع في إنتاج الطاقة من مصادر متجددة، حيث أطلقت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي مبادرة "شمس دبي" التي تهدف إلى تشجيع أصحاب المنازل والمباني على تركيب لوحات كهروضوئية، تنتج الكهرباء من الطاقة الشمسية، وربطها واستخدامها داخل المباني مع تحويل الفائض إلى شبكة .

  • وفي الإطار نفسه أعلنت وزارة الطاقة في نهاية عام 2016 عن قيامها، بالتعاون مع الهيئة الاتحادية للكهرباء والمياه، بإعداد قانون يسمح للسكان والمؤسسات والشركات الخاصة بإنتاج الكهرباء باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية عن طريق تركيب الألواح الكهروضوئية على اسطح المباني الخاصة بهم.

  • أسهمت مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة التي نفذتها الإمارات على الصعيد الوطني والعالمي إلى خفض كلفة الإنتاج بصورة ملحوظة، فسجلت رقماً عالمياً جديداً عند 2.42 سنت للكيلوواط/ساعة، وهو إنجاز مهم سيعزز فرص انتشار  تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة على الصعيد العالمي.

     

وقد تزامن ذلك كله مع الاهتمام بصورة خاصة بتحسين إنتاج النفط والغاز، وبتعزيز كفاءة استخدام الطاقة وترشيد استهلاكها من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من التدابير كالتوعية وربط الاستهلاك بالآلية الاقتصادية (نظام الشرائح) واستخدام الأدوات المرشدة لاستهلاك الطاقة في مختلف القطاعات.

استراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050

في ضوء النجاحات التي حققتها دولة الإمارات على صعيد الطاقة، أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة – رئيس مجلس الوزراء – حاكم دبي (رعاه الله) في شهر يناير 2017 "استراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050"، وهي أول استراتيجية موحدة للطاقة في الدولة على جانبي الانتاج والاستهلاك، إذ توازن بين الانتاج والاستهلاك والالتزامات البيئية العالمية، وتضمن بيئة اقتصادية مريحة للنمو في كافة القطاعات.

وتستهدف هذه الاستراتيجية الوصول بنسبة الطاقة النظيفة من مزيج الطاقة الوطني الى النصف بحلول عام 2050، آخذة بالاعتبار نسبة النمو في الطلب على الطاقة والمقدرة بحوالي 6% حتى عام 2050. كما تستهدف رفع كفاءة الاستهلاك الفردي والمؤسسي بنسبة 40% وخفض الانبعاثات الكربونية المرتبطة بإنتاج الطاقة الكهربائية بنسبة 70%.

وحددت الاستراتيجية حصة أشكال الطاقة التي ينبغي الوصول إليها في عام 2050 على النحو التالي: 44 % للطاقة النظيفة، و 38% للغاز،  و 12% للفحم الأخضر و 6% للطاقة النووية.

مساهمة الإمارات في نشر تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة على الصعيد العالمي

  • منذ تأسيسه عام 1971، أشرف صندوق أبوظبي للتنمية على تقديم 73 مليار درهم لتمويل 488 مشروعاً تنموياً في 83 دولة حول العالم.

  • يلتزم صندوق أبوظبي للتنمية بتقديم قروض امتياز بقيمة 1.285 مليار درهم (ما يعادل نحو 350 مليون دولار)، بالتعاون مع الوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة، وذلك دعماً لمشاريع الطاقة المتجددة في الدول النامية المنضمة إلى الوكالة.

  • من خلال برنامج الشراكة بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة ودول الجزر في المحيط الهادي، يقدم صندوق أبوظبي للتنمية منحاً بقيمة 183.6 مليون درهم (ما يعادل نحو 50 مليون دولار)، وذلك دعماً لمشاريع الطاقة المتجددة. وفي إطار هذا البرنامج، دعم صندوق أبوظبي للتنمية 6 مشاريع في تونغا وفيجي وكيريباتي وساموا وتوفالو وفانواتو.

  • يعد صندوق الكاريبي الذي يبلغ رأسماله 50 مليون دولار، والذي تم الإعلان عنه في سبتمبر 2016، أحدث إضافة إلى برنامجنا للمساعدة في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة في الخارج، بناءً على التزامات بما يزيد على 840 مليون دولار أجريت حتى الآن، لتقديم الدعم في أكثر من 25 دولة حول العالم.

  • تستثمر "مصدر" في مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة حول العالم، من أنظمة الطاقة الشمسية للمنازل التي تم تركيبها في 940 قرية في المغرب، ومصفوفة لندن لطاقة الرياح في المملكة المتحدة، إضافة إلى مشاريع أخرى حول العالم تدعم حلول الطاقة المتجددة.

استضافة مقر الوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة IRENA

مثل الإجماع العالمي على استضافة دولة الإمارات لمقر الوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة (إيرينا) في العاصمة أبوظبي اعترافاً عالمياً بأهمية الجهود التي تبذلها دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في مجال نشر الطاقة المتجددة على الصعيد العالمي.

وقد وفر الدعم المادي والمعنوي القوي الذي تقدمه دولة الإمارات للوكالة قوة إضافية مكّنت الوكالة من تعزيز وجودها والارتقاء بجهودها لتحقيق أهدافها في نشر تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة وتعزيز الاستثمارات العالمية الموجهة لهذا القطاع الحيوي.

استراتيجية الإمارات للتنمية الخضراء

الاقتصاد الأخضر هو أحد مسارات التنمية المستدامة. ويهدف هذا النهج بصورة عامة إلى تعزيز دور النمو الاقتصادي في تحقيق التنمية المستدامة ومكافحة الفقر ، وفي نفس الوقت المحافظة على قاعدة الموارد الطبيعية وتوسيعها، وذلك عن طريق فك الارتباط بين النمو والموارد.

وقد تبنت دولة الإمارات هذا النهج بصورة رسمية في عام 2012 حيث أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة – رئيس مجلس الوزراء- حاكم دبي (رعاه الله) استراتيجية الإمارات للتنمية الخضراء تحت شعار "اقتصاد أخضر لتنمية مستدامة"، لتحويل اقتصادنا الوطني إلى اقتصاد أخضر منخفض الكربون يستند في تطوره إلى المعرفة والابتكار.

وتتوزع هذه الاستراتيجية على ستة مسارات وهي: مسار الطاقة الخضراء، مسار الاستثمار الأخضر، مسار المدن الخضراء، مسار التغير المناخي، مسار الحياة الخضراء، ومسار التكنولوجيا الخضراء.

وفي عام 2015 اعتمد مجلس الوزراء آلية تنفيذ الاستراتيجية والأجندة الخضراء لدولة الإمارات 2015-2030 التي تم إعدادها بعد دراسات واجتماعات وورش عمل شاركت فيها مختلف الفعاليات التنموية في القطاعين الحكومي والخاص.

النقل المستدام

يمثل النمو المستمر في قطاع النقل البري بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أحد التحديات المهمة، فقد ارتفع عدد المركبات من حوالي 1.9 مليون مركبة في عام 2008 إلى حوالي 3.2 مليون مركبة في عام 2015، تعتمد على البنزين والديزل كوقود، باستثناء نسبة قليلة يعتمد تشغيلها على الغاز الطبيعي.

وعلى الرغم من الدور المهم الذي لعبه هذا القطاع كمحرك رئيسي في التنمية، إلاّ أن الزيادة المطردة والسريعة في عدد المركبات بالدولة خلقت تأثيرات سلبية وتحديات بارزة على أكثر من صعيد، من بينها زيادة مستويات التلوث في المدن والمراكز الحضرية، وزيادة النفايات الخطرة وغير الخطرة، وزيادة مستوى الانبعاثات الكربونية، إذ تبلغ مساهمة قطاع النقل حوالي 15% من إجمالي الانبعاثات الكربونية في الدولة.

وبهدف الحد من الآثار السلبية لقطاع النقل البري والمحافظة على دوره الحيوي في التنمية، قامت الجهات المعنية باتخاذ مجموعة من التدابير، من بينها:

  • وضع معايير وطنية لمستويات الانبعاثات الناتجة عن وسائل النقل البرية تضمنها نظام حماية الهواء من التلوث الصادر بموجب قرار مجلس الوزراء رقم 37 لسنة 2006 كجزء من اللائحة التنفيذية للقانون الاتحادي رقم 24 لسنة 1999 في شأن حماية البيئة وتنميتها.

  • الفحص الدوري لكتل الملوثات الغازية المنبعثة من العادم بشكل سنوي كشرط للترخيص باستعمال المركبة.

  • تحسين أنواع الوقود المستخدم كوقود للمركبات، حيث تم حظر استخدام البنزين الحاوي على الرصاص وإحلال البنزين الخالي من الرصاص بديلاً له منذ عام 2003، وكذلك خفض نسبة الكبريت في وقود الديزل بصورة تدريجية حتى وصل في الوقت الحالي الى 10 أجزاء بالمليون.

  • استخدام الغاز الطبيعي كوقود في عدد أكبر من المركبات. 

اعتماد خيار النقل الجماعي وجعله أكثر قبولاً وجاذبية، بالإضافة الى استحداث وسائل نقل جماعي جديدة كالقطارات والمترو والترام للحد من الاستخدام الفردي لوسائل النقل. وقد أصبحت وسائل النقل الجماعي خياراً لعدد كبير من السكان في الدولة، فعلى سبيل المثال، استخدم أكثر من 531 مليون راكب وسائل النقل الجماعي في دبي عام 2015، بمتوسط يومي يبلغ حوالي 1.5 مليون راكب.

  • تهيئة البنية التحتية المناسبة لتشجيع دخول السيارات التي تعمل بوقود نظيف للسوق المحلي.

  • تحرير أسعار الوقود اعتباراً من أول أغسطس عام 2015.

وسوف تتواصل الجهود المبذولة لاستدامة قطاع النقل في المرحلة المقبلة، وذلك بالتركيز على التحسين المستمر لأنواع الوقود وشبكة الطرق، وتنويع وسائل النقل من خلال زيادة حصة المركبات التي تعمل بالوقود النظيف، بالإضافة إلى تعزيز وسائل النقل الجماعي وجعلها الخيار المفضل لأكبر عدد من السكان.

العمارة الخضراء

يعتبر قطاع المباني أكبر مصدر منفرد لانبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري على المستوى العالمي وفقاً للهيئة الحكومية المعنية بتغير المناخ. وفي دولة الإمارات يستحوذ هذا القطاع على أكثر من 70% من جملة استهلاك الطاقة الكهربائية في الإمارات و حوالي 40 % من إجمالي المياه، وبالتالي فإن استدامة أنماط الاستهلاك في هذا القطاع تمثل فرصاً لخفض الاستهلاك وخفض الملوثات والانبعاثات والنفايات أكبر منها في أي قطاع منفرد آخر.

وقد تبنت دولة الإمارات نهج العمارة الخضراء الذي يعتبر أحد الأدوات المهمة في هذا الجانب، خاصة في ظل النهضة العمرانية التي تشهدها دولة الإمارات. ويتم تطبيق معايير هذا النهج بصورة إلزامية في كل من أبوظبي عن طريق برنامج "استدامة" الذي يتضمن خمسة مستويات للتقييم، وفي دبي عن طريق نظام "السعفات" الذي يتضمن أربعة مستويات" للتقييم. كما تم البدء بتطبيق معايير العمارة الخضراء على المستوى الاتحادي في  المباني الحكومية كمرحلة أولى على أن يتم تطبيقها على كافة المباني في الدولة في مراحل لاحقة.

البصمة البيئية

مبادرة البصمة البيئية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي مبادرة شراكة تجمع بين وزارة التغير المناخي والبيئة، وهيئة البيئة – أبوظبي، وجمعية الإمارات للحياة الفطرية، والشبكة العالمية للبصمة البيئية. وتعتبر دولة الإمارات هي ثالث دولة في العالم، بعد سويسرا واليابان، التي تتبنى مثل هذه المبادرة.

ومنذ إطلاقها في عام 2007 حققت المبادرة من خلال شراكتها الاستراتيجية، وعبر ثلاث مراحل مدة كل منها ثلاث سنوات، إنجازات مهمة، شملت: التعريف بمفهوم البصمة البيئية لدى واضعي السياسات وصناع القرار وأفراد المجتمع وإدماجه في وضع السياسات واتخاذ القرار، ووضع آليات ونماذج متطورة لجمع ومراجعة وتدقيق البيانات ذات الصلة بحسابات البصمة البيئية وتوفيرها على المستويين المحلي والعالمي.

كما نجحت المبادرة في تطوير أداة نمذجة علمية لتقييم كيفية تأثير سياسات معالجة العرض والطلب على الطاقة والمياه على الانبعاثات الكربونية، وتطوير معايير وسياسة عامة لاستخدام الطاقة بكفاءة في الإنارة، وتطوير معايير وسياسة عامة لقطاع النقل

وقد أسهمت المبادرة بدور مهم في خفض معدل البصمة البيئية للفرد في الدولة من حوالي 12 هكتار عالمي في عام 2006 إلى أقل من 8 هكتار عالمي للفرد سنوياً في عام 2014.


 

استراتيجية الإمارات لاستشراف المستقبل

تهدف استراتيجية الإمارات لاستشراف المستقبل إلى الاستشراف المبكر للفرص والتحديات في كافة القطاعات الحيوية في الدولة وتحليلها ووضع الخطط الاستباقية بعيدة المدى لها على كافة المستويات لتحقيق إنجازات نوعية لخدمة مصالح الدولة.

وتهدف الاستراتيجية لوضع أنظمة حكومية تجعل من استشراف المستقبل جزءاً من عملية التخطيط الاستراتيجي في الجهات الحكومية، وإطلاق دراسات وسيناريوهات لاستشراف مستقبل كافة القطاعات الحيوية ووضع الخطط والسياسات بناء على ذلك.

ويمثل التعامل مع التغير المناخي أحد القضايا ذات الأولوية المختارة في المرحلة الأولى من الاستراتيجية.

المسرعات الحكومية

تعتبر المسرعات الحكومية التي اعتمدها مجلس الوزراء في شهر أكتوبر 2016 آلية عمل حكومية جديدة تهدف إلى تسريع وتيرة تحقيق أهداف الأجندة الوطنية لرؤية الإمارات 2021، بما فيها الأهداف ذات الصلة بتغير المناخ.

وفي إطار برنامج عمل الـ 100 يوم الذي أعلنه صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة – رئيس مجلس الوزراء – حاكم دبي (رعاه الله) بدأت وزارة التغير المناخي والبيئة وشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وشركة جنرال إلكتريك للطاقة مشروعاً مشتركاً لخفض انبعاثات "أكاسيد النتروجين" الناتجة عن أنشطة مصانع الشركة في منطقة الطويلة بأبوظبي وجبل علي بدبي بنسبة 10% في نهاية شهر فبراير 2017 وهي نسبة تعادل إزالة 280 ألف سيارة من طرقات الدولة.

وقد تجاوز المشروع، الذي انتهى في موعده المحددة، الأهداف المقررة، إذ وصلت نسبة خفض انبعاثات أكاسيد النيتروجين الى 16%.

 

مشاريع إزالة الانبعاثات

تقنيات التقاط وتخزين الكربون

تعتبر تقنية التقاط وتخزين الكربون، التي تبنتها دولة الإمارات، من التقنيات الواعدة والمهمة في مجال التخفيف من الانبعاثات الكربونية في المشاريع الصناعية.

وفي شهر نوفمبر 2016 بدأت شركة أبوظبي لالتقاط الكربون (الريادة)، وهو مشروع مشترك بين شركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية (أدنوك)، وشركة أبوظبي لطاقة المستقبل (مصدر)، بتنفيذ أول برنامج على نطاق تجاري في المنطقة لالتقاط وتخزين الكربون واستخدامه في الإنتاج المُحسِن للنفط بأبوظبي.

ويستهدف المشروع التقاط 800 ألف من غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون من شركة حديد الإمارات، وتخزينها ونقلها عبر أنابيب وحقنه كبديل عن الغاز المشبع بالسوائل في حقول النفط في أبوظبي لتعزيز انتاجيتها. وتعادل كميات ثاني أكسيد الكربون الملتقطة بالمشروع الانبعاثات الكربونية الناتجة عن 170 ألف سيارة.

وسيفتح هذا المشروع الباب أمام تطبيق هذه التقنية وتوظيفها على نطاق واسع في المنطقة مستقبلاً.

الكربون الأزرق

"الكربون الأزرق" هو مصطلح يشير الى الكربون الموجود في النظم الإيكولوجية البحرية والساحلية، بما في ذلك غابات القرم (المنجروف)  والمستنقعات المالحة، والحشائش البحرية والحصائر الطحلبية والسبخات الساحلية، ويتم خلال هذه العملية تخزين الكربون الموجود في الغلاف الجوي في الكتلة الحيوية والرواسب البحرية.

وفي إطار اهتمامها بمشاريع احتجاز وإزالة الكربون، أجرت وزارة التغير المناخي والبيئة بالتعاون مع مبادرة أبوظبي العالمية للبيانات البيئية دراسة شاملة للنظم البيئية الساحلية وقدرتها على تخزين الكربون.

وقد وفر هذا المشروع فهماً أوسع حول قدرة تلك النظم على تخزين واحتجاز الكربون، وخيارات لدمج النتائج التي أسفر عنها المشروع في السياسة والإدارة بما يعزز جهود حمايتها والاستخدام المستدام لها.

أنقر هنا للاطلاع / تحميل التقرير


 

مشروع الخطة الوطنية لتغير المناخ

انطلاقاً من اختصاصاتها ومسؤولياتها تعكف وزارة التغير المناخي بالتعاون مع كافة الجهات المعنية في الدولة ومن خلال "مجلس الإمارات للتغير المناخي والبيئة" على تطوير أول خطة لمواجهة التغير المناخي في المنطقة، وتقوم الخطة على رؤية 2021، واستراتيجية الإمارات للتنمية الخضراء، واستراتيجية الابتكار، وستعزز هذه الخطة من مسيرة التنويع الاقتصادي الطموحة التي تقطعها الدولة، كما سيعزز من تحولها نحو القطاعات الجديدة والمبنية على المعرفة.